Wilhelm Hill

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

Piano Trio No.1 in D Major, Op.12

“Hill’s chamber music is amongst the best of its type and is to be treasured. Hill is firmly in the classical camp and a follower of Schubert and Schumann but no mere imitator, he goes his own way.”---The Neue Frankfurter Presse


Wilhelm Hill (1838-1902) was born in the German city of Fulda. He studied piano and violin locally before moving to Frankfurt where he studied with Heinrich Henkel and Johann Christian Haupff. Except for a few short intervals, Hill remained in Frankfurt for the rest of his life where he gained a reputation both as a piano teacher and composer. He knew and was on friendly terms with many of the important composers of his day including Brahms, Anton Rubinstein and Louis Spohr. Spohr's high praise of Hill's first piano trio helped to make him better known in chamber music circles around Frankfurt. He wrote in most genres and, as far as chamber music goes, composed two piano trios, a string quartet, several instrumental sonatas and a piano quartet.


Piano Trio No.1 in D Major dates from 1863. The first movement begins with a short Andante introduction which leads to the genial main section, Allegro ma non troppo. The mood is relaxed and filled with much lyricism. In the Andante which follows, the cello introduces a sad folk tune and when the violin enters a lovely duet ensues. Elegant and tasteful the music flows effortlessly along as the mood lightens. A classical Menuett, stately and solemn comes next. The finale, an engaging Allegro assai brings this worthwhile trio to a close


This trio has been unavailable for more than a century, we reprinted the original edition but have added rehearsal letters and corrected a few mistakes. It should appeal to both professionals and amateurs alike.


Parts: $29.95





Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New