Ferdinand Hiller

Soundbite 1st Movt


Soundbite 2nd Movt


Soundbite 3rd Movt


Soundbite 4th Movt

String Trio in C Major, Op.207

Ferdinand Hiller (1811-1885) first studied piano and violin in his native Frankfurt. His talent was such that he was taken to study with Johann Nepomuk Hummel, then the greatest living pianist. For more than 2 decades he was one of Mendelssohnís closest friends, succeeding him as conductor of the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra. He served as a Professor and Director of the Cologne Conservatory for several decades. Among his many students was Max Bruch. Hillerís vast musical output is more or less forgotten. It contained works in virtually every genre.


His String Trio in C Major, Op.207 was published in 1886, the year after his death. The trio is well written and all of the instruments are well served. The opening Allegro con fuoco is genial and uncomplicated but with beautiful melodies. Next comes an Andante, a theme and engaging set of variations which serves to illustrate Hillerís skill as a composer A charming Intermezzo with considerable appeal follows. The finale, a Presto, bustles along to a satisfying conclusion.


Here is a welcome addition to the string trio literatures. Our edition is based on the original, however, we have added rehearsal letters.

Parts: $19.95


Parts & Score: $24.95




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New