Julius Hopfe

Soundbite Movt1

Soundbite Movt2

Soundbite Movt3

Soundbite Movt4

 String Trio No.1 in C Major, Op.41

Hofpfe's String Trio No.1 in C Major, Op.41 appeared in 1856 and was dedicated to four military officers who formed the Berlin Officers Music Society. It is in four movements—–Allegro, Andantino grazioso quasi allegretto, Scherzo, allegro vivace and Allegro fughetta. It is well written with all of the parts being treated more or less equally. The tuneful melodies and lack of any technical challenges make this unprepossing trio an excellent concert or competition choice for young players.


Heinrich Julius Hopfe (1817-1891) was born near the German town of Heldrungen. His father, a preacher, intended him to have a career in the ministry of Julius was able to pursue musical studies first at his Gymnasium, then at University of Berlin and the Berlin Akademie der Kunst, obtaining a degree of doctor of philosophy. He became a prominent and influential piano pedigogue and also a conductor, all the while composing. He composed in most genres and was, during his lifetime, greatly appreciated for his chamber music. Among his chamber music works are 7 string trios, only two of which were ever published, three piano trios, two piano quartets, 2 nonets, 2 octets, 4 string quintets, 4 septets and several string quartets.


Parts: $15.95



Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New