Hans Huber

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

Cello Sonata No.1 in D Major, Op.33

HHuber’s Cello Sonata No.1 dates from 1878 shortly after he finished his studies at the Leipzig Conservatory. It is dedicated to Friedrich Grutzmacher who was Professor of Cello at the Conservatory while Huber was there and it is more than likely that Huber knew him. Although Grutzmacher was considered one of the finest cellists of his time, the sonata is not a vehicle for a virtuoso but a finely crafted piece of music. The opening movement, Lebhaft und schwungvoll (lively and lilting) is jovial and full of life. The second movement, Rasch und durchsichtig (quick and straight forward) is an exciting scherzo. Next comes a lovely slow movement, Ruhig und mit freiem Vortrag (Peaceful and free in tempo).The finale, Feurig und schwungvoll (fiery and swinging) is energetic and uplifting.


Hans Huber (1852-1921) was born in the Swiss town of Eppenberg. Between 1870-74, he studied at the Leipzig Conservatory with Carl Reinecke and Ernst Richter. After graduating he held a number of positions before being appointed a professor at the Basel Conservatory, where he served as director between 1889-1917. Huber’s music was firmly rooted in the Romantic movement inspired at first by Schumann and Brahms and then later by Liszt and Richard Strauss. He was widely considered Switzerland’s leading composing during the last quarter of the 19th and first decade of the 20th century. He composed in virtually every genre and many of his works were for long years part of various repertoires and the only works by a Swiss composer that were regularly performed outside of Switzerland.


This is a very accomplished work, which had it been written by a "Name" would sure have been a staple in the recital repertoire.  Long out of print, we are pleased to make it available once again. We warmly recommend this work to accomplished cellists everywhere.

Parts: $24.95 




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New