Hans Huber

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Cello Sonata No.4 in B flat Major, Op.130

Huber's Cello Sonata No.4 in B flat Major, Op.130 is his last and dates from 1909. In three movements, it begins in very interesting fashion, unusually with an Adagio con molto sentimento, ma non troppo lento. It is filled with beautiful, long flowing themes. The middle movement, Allegretto grazioso e umoristico, is a kind of intermezzo, which opens in a playful manner but with a more serious middle section. The finale, Allegro molto con fuoco, does not really begin in a firey fashion, but slowly builds to it.


Hans Huber (1852-1921) was born in the Swiss town of Eppenberg. Between 1870-74, he studied at the Leipzig Conservatory with Carl Reinecke and Ernst Richter. After graduating he held a number of positions before being appointed a professor at the Basel Conservatory, where he served as director between 1889-1917. Huber’s music was firmly rooted in the Romantic movement inspired at first by Schumann and Brahms and then later by Liszt and Richard Strauss. He was widely considered Switzerland’s leading composing during the last quarter of the 19th and first decade of the 20th century. He composed in virtually every genre and many of his works were for long years part of various repertoires and the only works by a Swiss composer that were regularly performed outside of Switzerland.


This is a very accomplished work, which had it been written by a "Name" would sure have been a staple in the recital repertoire.  Long out of print, we are pleased to make it available once again. We warmly recommend this work to accomplished cellists everywhere.

Parts: $24.95 




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New