Hans Huber

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

Piano Quartet No.1 in B flat Major, Op.110

Hans Huber’s Piano Quartet No.1, Op.110 dates from 1893. The main theme to the first movement, Allegro moderato, shows the influence of Brahms but is quite impressive, the development section is superbly done and engrossing. The second movement, Adagio con molto sentimento, appeals by virtue of its lovely, noble melody which serves as the main theme. Next comes an exciting scherzo, Presto, with a contrasting tranquillo trio section which is elegant and even delicate. The the very effective finale, Allegro vivace, is marked ‘alla svizzera’ and is clearly based on Swiss folk melodies.


Hans Huber (1852-1921) was born in the Swiss town of Eppenberg. Between 1870-74, he studied at the Leipzig Conservatory with Carl Reinecke and Ernst Richter. After graduating he held a number of positions before being appointed a professor at the Basel Conservatory, where he served as director between 1889-1917. Huber’s music was firmly rooted in the Romantic movement inspired at first by Schumann and Brahms and then later by Liszt and Richard Strauss. He was widely considered Switzerland’s leading composer during the last quarter of the 19th and first decade of the 20th century. He composed in virtually every genre and many of his works were for long years part of various repertoires and the only works by a Swiss composer that were regularly performed outside of Switzerland.


Long out of print, we are pleased to make it available once again. It will do well in concert and should also be welcomed by amateurs players.

Parts: $34.95 





Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New