Hans Huber

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

Sonata for 2 Violins & Piano in B flat Major, Op.135

The Op.135 Trio, known as the Sonata for Two Violins & Piano, was a late romantic work, which though for a seldom heard ensemble, is an outstanding late Romantic piece of music which deserves to be heard in concert and played.


Hans Huber (1852-1921) was born in the Swiss town of Eppenberg. Between 1870-74, he studied at the Leipzig Conservatory with Carl Reinecke and Ernst Richter. After graduating he held a number of positions before being appointed a professor at the Basel Conservatory, where he served as director between 1889-1917.


Huber’s music was firmly rooted in the Romantic movement inspired at first by Schumann and Brahms and then later by Liszt and Richard Strauss. He was widely considered Switzerland’s leading composer during the last quarter of the 19th and first decade of the 20th century. He composed in virtually every genre and many of his works were for long years part of various repertoires and the only works by a Swiss composer that were regularly performed outside of Switzerland.


The Sonata for Two Violins and Piano dates from 1913 and is without doubt one of the finest, if not the finest, Romantic work for this ensemble. It opens with a brief Maestoso introduction which leads seamlessly to the main section Allegro tranquillo, which starts calmly with great lyricism. An interlude in the minor to a joyous and triumphant second theme. An extraordinarily fine Menuetto in the minor comes next. It retains its dance-like quality, while at the same time exploring the new tonalities of the late Romantic movement. The third movement, Romanze, adagio ma non troppo, begins in a highly romantic vein with a warm, affectionate melody. The second theme though just as romantic provides a very fine contrast. The finale, Allegro non troppo, begins with a brief whirlwind introduction before it is swept away by gorgeous main theme which rushes forward with a sense of joy and purpose.


Long out of print, we are pleased to make it available once again and hope that it will find a place on the music stands of both professionals and amateurs alike.

Parts: $29.95 





Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New