Hans Huber

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Violin Sonata No.5 in E Major, Op.112

Hans Huber (1852-1921) was born in the Swiss town of Eppenberg. Between 1870-74, he studied at the Leipzig Conservatory with Carl Reinecke and Ernst Richter. After graduating he held a number of positions before being appointed a professor at the Basel Conservatory, where he served as director between 1889-1917. Huber’s music was firmly rooted in the Romantic movement inspired at first by Schumann and Brahms and then later by Liszt and Richard Strauss. He was widely considered Switzerland’s leading composer during the last quarter of the 19th and first decade of the 20th century. He composed in virtually every genre and many of his works were for long years part of various repertoires and the only works by a Swiss composer that were regularly performed outside of Switzerland.


Huber's Fifth Violin Sonata was completed in 1891. In this work Huber shows that he has moved beyond the early and mid Romantic tendencies which were in vogue when he studied at Leipzig. Here, the music of post-Brahmsian, late Romanticism is prominent. The opening movement, Allegretto moderato, begins in a calm and gentle vein. The music flows along smoothly but eventually rises to a powerful and dramatic climax. The middle movement, Presto agitato, bursts forth full of energy and forward thrust, immediately capturing the listener's attention. There are short lyrical interludes, but the music, for the most part, retains its initial mood. The finale, Allegro ma non troppo, begins in much the same calm vein as the opening movement, the melody is stately and reserved but slowly, and almost without notice, Huber creates tension as the music moves into higher registers.


Long out of print, we are pleased to make it available once again. It is undoubtedly a candidate for the recital hall and should be an attractive addition to the repertoire of both amateurs and professionals.

Parts: $24.95 





Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New