Jacques Ibert

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

Soundbite 5th Movt

Cinq Pices en Trio

For Oboe, Clarinet & Bassoon

Jacques Ibert (1890-1962) was born in Paris. He received lessons on the violin and piano as a boy and then entered the Paris Conservatory where he studied composition. He enjoyed a long career eventually becoming one of the best known French composers of the 20th century. He composed in virtually every genre.


"Cinq Pieces en Trio was composed in 1935. There are two andantes sandwiched between three allegros. Though Ibert called it Five Pieces, there is a unity to the work and it could just as easily have been called Trio. It is a slight work with the shortest movement lasting less than a minute and the longest under three. The sprightly march-like opening Allegro vivo is especially attractive. The Andantino which follows is a reflective entrat for the Allegro assai, a modern minuet with a charming cuckoo passage. A second Andante leads to the finale, Allegro quasi marziale which really is not all that martial but is nevertheless effective in bringing this bright charming work, written mostly in a neo-classical style, to a successful close."---The Chamber Music Journal

Parts: $12.95




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New