Mikhail Ippolitov-Ivanov


Piano Quartet in E flat Major, Op.9

Mikhail Ippolitov-Ivanov completed his Piano Quartet in E flat Major, Op.9 in 1895. It was published 3 years later. Because of its rhythms, harmonies, polytonalities and even moreso homotonalities, it is unmistakably Russian sounding. The big, opening movement, Allegro moderato, is quite energetic. Our soundbite is of the lovely middle movement, Andante comodo, with its highly romantic duo conversations between the cello and violin and later the piano and viola. The finale, Allegro risoluto, is energetic with much forward motion. There are not a great deal of Russian piano quartets which is all the more reason why this work should appeal to those groups looking for one from the Romantic period. The Quartet can especially be recommended to amateurs as it is not at all difficult technically.


Mikhail Ippolitov-Ivanov (1859-1935) was born in the town of Gatchina, near St. Petersburg. He studied composition with Rimsky-Korsakov at  the St. Petersburg Conservatory. After graduating, he obtained the position of Director of the Tiflis (Tbilisi) Music Academy. He spent the next seven years in the Georgian capital, also holding the post of conductor of the city's orchestra. It was during this time that he developed his life-long interest in the music of the Georgian region and many of his compositions reflect this, the most famous being his Caucasian Sketches. In 1893, he became a professor at the Moscow Conservatory and later served as its director for two decades. He composed in all genres.


Unobtainable now for many years, we are pleased to make it available once again.

Parts: $34.95



Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New