Paul Juon

Soundbite 1st Sect

Soundbite 2nd Sect

Soundbite 3rd Sect

Violin Sonata No.3 in b minor, Op.82

Paul Juon’s Violin Sonata No.3 in b minor dates from 1930 and consists of one movement, but within is made up of three sections. While his earlier works showed the influence of Tchaikovsky, this influence disappears in his later works although they retain a certain Russian flavor, albeit expressed in modern terms. In the quick opening section the two main themes are given out and are juxtaposed. The middle section, an Andante, is somewhat denser in texture. In the final section, we see that that the cyclic form is employed and themes from the earlier sections are reintroduced though in different ways than they had appeared previously.


Paul Juon (1872-1940) was the son of Swiss parents who emigrated to Moscow where he was born. Educated at the Moscow German High School,  he entered the Moscow Conservatory where he studied violin with Jan Hrimaly and composition with Anton Arensky and Sergei Taneyev. After graduating, he went to Berlin for further composition instruction from Woldemar Bargiel (we have published several of Bargiel's works). In 1906, after holding various posts in Russia, Juon was invited by Joseph Joachim, head of the prestigious Berlin Hochschule für Musik, to become a of Professor of Composition, a post which he held until 1934 when he emigrated to Switzerland, where lived for the rest of his life. Juon was widely regarded as a first rate composer and his works were given frequent performance throughout Europe during his lifetime. Chamber music plays a large part of his output which numbers more than 100 works.

Here is an attractive modern work which not only deserves to heard in recital but should also interest amateurs who are keen to add to their repertoire from this time period.

Parts: $24.95




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New