Robert Kahn

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

 Piano Trio No.2 in E flat Major, Op.33

"Robert Kahn’s Piano Trio No.2 in E flat Major, Op.33 appeared in 1900. The first movement, Allegro, opens in a jovial mood. The unusually fresh main theme is immediately pleasing and its development is superbly done. It is followed by a delicate and more lyrical second subject. Of particular note is the beautiful triplet accompaniment. The remarkable and poignant second movement, Andante sostenuto, begins in a funereal vein, its lovely melody creates an air of resignation. The finale, Allegretto vivace, is in rondo form and full of forward motion with a vivace coda." ---Wilhelm Altmann writing in his Handbook for Piano Trio Players.


Robert Kahn (1865-1951) was born in Mannheim of a well-to-do banking family. He began his studies at the Hochschule für Musik in Berlin. There, he got to know and became friends with Joseph Joachim who was the director. It was through both Joachim and his own family that he had a chance to get to know Brahms, who was so impressed with Kahn that he offered to give him composition lessons. However, Kahn was too overawed to accept. Nevertheless, Brahms did help Kahn informally, and while Kahn's work does, to some extent, show the influence of Brahms, he is an eclectic and independent composer whose music has its own originality. After finishing his studies in Berlin, Kahn, on Brahms' suggestion, went to Munich to study with Joseph Rheinberger. After completing his own studies, he worked for a while as a free lance composer before obtaining a position at the Hochschule in Berlin where he eventually became a professor of piano and composition.


Here is a work which would do well in the concert hall but will also be a pleasure for amateurs to play. Long out of print, we are pleased to be able to reintroduce this very fine and appealing piano trio.

Parts: $29.95




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New