August Klughardt

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Piano Trio in B flat Major, Op.47

August Klughardt (1847-1902) was born in the German town of Köthen in Saxon-Anhalt. After studying music locally, Klughardt began to earn his living by conducting. He served in several locales, including Weimar where he worked from 1869 to 1873. There, he met Franz Liszt, which was very important for his creative development. While influenced by Wagner and Liszt, Klughardt did not by any means entirely adopt the ideology of their New German School, refusing to write tone poems and instead concentrating on symphonies and chamber music. The influence of Robert Schumann, and to a lesser extent Brahms, certainly is equally important. It was his failure to whole-heartedly adopt Lisztian principals which led to his being labeled as a conservative composer. Klughardt received considerable recognition as composer and won many distinctions, but today, sadly, his music, with the exception of one or two pieces, is entirely forgotten.


Klughardt's Piano Trio in B flat Major, Op.47 appeared in 1886. The upbeat opening Allegro moderato begins with a gentle, romantic melody but soon an heroic second subject of ceremonial importance is introduced. The lovely middle movement, Adagio, is full of beautiful melodies and deep feeling. The exciting finale, Allegro, holds one’s interest from start to finish and includes a very effective fugue.


Out of print for nearly a century, we are pleased to reintroduce a good trio from the romantic period which would do well in concert but can also be enjoyed by amateurs

Parts: $29.95



Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New