Franz Krommer

Soundbite 1st Movt

 Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

Quintet for Clarinet and Strings in B flat Major, Op.95

"Franz Krommer's Quintet for Clarinet & Strings, Op.95 in B Flat was published around 1820. Here, we definitely have a work which was not intended as a solo piece for clarinet with simple string accompaniment. Though still the leading voice, the clarinet is much better integrated into the ensemble. Originally for clarinet, violin, two violas and cello, a version for standard string quartet and clarinet appeared during Krommer’s lifetime. The opening Allegro moderato is exciting, tuneful and full of the little original flourishes that are Krommer’s alone. In the Adagio which follows, the clarinet presents a theme as attractive as any of Schubert’s. It is rather like a dramatic aria—a gorgeous movement. The quick Minuetto, Allegretto, is almost, but not quite, a scherzo. The vigorous finale, Allegro, is, as one would expect with Krommer, tuneful and filled with little surprises—fresh and original. A fine period work, well worth hearing." The literature of wind instruments, especially that for the clarinet, has been unquestionably enriched by Krommer's works, and they rival those of Mozart and Weber for the same combinations.”—The Editor of The Chamber Music Journal


Franz Krommer (1759-1831) was one of the most successful composers in Vienna at the turn of the 18th Century. His reputation was attested to by the fact that his works were frequently republished throughout Germany, England, France, Italy, Scandinavia and even the United States. According to several contemporary sources he was regarded with Haydn as the leading composer of string quartets and as a serious rival of Beethoven. Krommer was a violinist of considerable ability who came to Vienna around 1785. For the following 10 years he held appointments at various aristocratic courts in Hungary. He returned to Vienna in 1795 where he remained until his death, holding various positions including that of Court Composer (Hofmusiker) to the Emperor, Franz I, an enthusiastic quartet player. He was the last composer to hold this august title and one of his duties was accompanying the Emperor on his various campaigns so that he could relax in the evenings playing quartets. There are more than 300 compositions which were at one time or another published, much of which is chamber music. He wrote more than 70 string quartets, 26 quintets, perhaps as many as 15 string trios, but also several works for winds and strings.


(A) Clarinet & String Quartet $29.95
(B) Clarinet, Violin, 2 Violas & Cello $29.95
(C) All Six Parts $35.95



Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New