Franz Krommer

Soundbite 1st Movt

 Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Oboe Quartet No.2 in F Major

Franz Krommer's Oboe Quartet No.2 in F Major was the second of a set of three which were composed in the decade between 1780 and 1790. As was typical for the time, quartets which involved one wind instrument and three strings were intended as a vehicle for the wind instrument and the oboe is given the lead throughout although the violin is an equal partner. It is clear that Krommer had accomplished players, certainly as far as the oboe and violin parts are concerned, in mind. The opening movement is a charming Allegro full of singing melody. A middle movement, Menuetto, is a real Viennese minuet. In the trio section, the violin alone is given the chance to shine. An engaging Rondo concludes a very fine work.


Franz Krommer (1759-1831) was one of the most successful composers in Vienna at the turn of the 18th Century. His reputation was attested to by the fact that his works were frequently republished throughout Germany, England, France, Italy, Scandinavia and even the United States. According to several contemporary sources he was regarded with Haydn as the leading composer of string quartets and as a serious rival of Beethoven. Krommer was a violinist of considerable ability who came to Vienna around 1785. For the following 10 years he held appointments at various aristocratic courts in Hungary. He returned to Vienna in 1795 where he remained until his death, holding various positions including that of Court Composer (Hofmusiker) to the Emperor, Franz I, an enthusiastic quartet player. He was the last composer to hold this august title and one of his duties was accompanying the Emperor on his various campaigns so that he could relax in the evenings playing quartets. There are more than 300 compositions which were at one time or another published, much of which is chamber music. He wrote more than 70 string quartets, 35 quintets, perhaps as many as 15 string trios, but also several works for winds and strings.


Here is a work which should interest both professionals and experienced amateurs alike and makes a good selection for concert hall performance.


Parts: $15.95


Parts & Score: $22.95




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New