Franz Krommer

Soundbite 1st Movt

 Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

String Quartet in E flat Major, Op.24 No.2--New Edition

"Krommer's Op.24 No.2 Quartet in E flat Major was originally published in 1802, but scholars generally date its composition from the mid-1790s. It shows some resemblances to late Haydn, but Krommer has his own sound, always the mark of important composer. In Op.24, the thematic material is quite original and does not sound like Haydn. It is filled with fetching melodies for which Krommer surely had a gift. The opening Allegro moderato, in part brings to mind the first movement of Mozart's K.387 and provides yet another excellent example of his art. Next comes a very lovely Romanza, a theme and set of variations, full of feeling. The Minuetto-Allegretto is as good as any of Haydn’s and the finale, a Presto, is a real ’foot-tapper.’”---The Chamber Music Journal


Franz Krommer (1759-1831) was born in town of Kamnitz then part of the Habsburg Austrian Empire (today Kamenice in the Czech Republic) It had a mixed population of Germans and Czechs and though baptized František Vincenc Kramář by the time he was 15, Krommer began using the Germanized version of his name for the rest of his life, the name by which he beame known to the world. Krommer was one of the most successful composers in Vienna at the turn of the 18th Century. His reputation was attested to by the fact that his works were frequently republished throughout Germany, England, France, Italy, Scandinavia and even the United States. According to several contemporary sources he was regarded with Haydn as the leading composer of string quartets and as a serious rival of Beethoven. Krommer was a violinist of considerable ability who came to Vienna around 1785. For the following 10 years he held appointments at various aristocratic courts in Hungary. He returned to Vienna in 1795 where he remained until his death, holding various positions including that of Court Composer (Hofmusiker) to the Emperor, Franz I, an enthusiastic quartet player. He was the last composer to hold this august title and one of his duties was accompanying the Emperor on his various campaigns so that he could relax in the evenings playing quartets.


There are more than 300 compositions which were at one time or another published, much of which is chamber music. He wrote more than 70 string quartets, 35 quintets, perhaps as many as 15 string trios, but also several works for winds and strings. Of the string quartets, the famous chamber music critic Wilhelm Altmann, in his Handbook for String Quartet Players writes, “Krommer knew how to write for string instruments and as a result what he wrote sounds brilliant.” Among his dozens of quartets, Altmann singles out Krommer’s Op.24 as particularly fine and effective. He considered them on a par with those of Haydn and noted that each of the instruments is given grateful parts and solos, and violinists in particular can always learn something from playing the works of Krommer.


Here is a first class work, fresh-sounding and appealing, which would make a great program choice as an alternative to the inevitable Haydn or Mozart. Our new edition is based on the 1802 Vienna edition and should interest both professionals and amateurs alike.


Parts: $24.95





Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New