Franz Krommer

Soundbite 1st Movt

 Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

Soundbite 5th Movt

String Quintet No.16 in D Major, Op.80--New Edition

For 2 Violins, 2 Violas and Violoncello

Franz Krommer's magnificent String Quintet in D Major, Op.80 dates from around 1815. Written on a huge scale in five movements and full of appealing melodies and original touches, it is not hard to see why Krommer's music was immensely popular during his lifetime and was known throughout Europe and even in North America. The first movement, an Allegro, begins with a stately introduction with upward scale passages before the introduction of the lovely main theme which passed from voice to voice. The second movement is a warm and romantic Adagio. The original sounding third movement, a Mineutto, allegretto, is noteworthy not only from its fine use of chromaticism but also for its telling use of pizzicato. The trio section is a gorgeous Austrian country Ländler of the sort which Krommer was a master. Before the finale, Krommer place a catchy and playful Andantino, allegretto. The finale, a rollicking Allegro, concludes this fine work. As the famous critic Wilhelm Altmann wrote in his Chamber Music Handbook:


"Franz Krommer's String Quintets are sure to please those chamber music players seeking something new and fresh from the classical era. They can be recommended for concert performance as well as to amateur enthusiasts."


Franz Krommer (1759-1831) was born in town of Kamnitz then part of the Habsburg Austrian Empire (today Kamenice in the Czech Republic) It had a mixed population of Germans and Czechs and though baptized František Vincenc Kramář by the time he was 15, Krommer began using the Germanized version of his name for the rest of his life, the name by which he beame known to the world. Krommer was one of the most successful composers in Vienna at the turn of the 18th Century. His reputation was attested to by the fact that his works were frequently republished throughout Germany, England, France, Italy, Scandinavia and even the United States. According to several contemporary sources he was regarded with Haydn as the leading composer of string quartets and as a serious rival of Beethoven. Krommer was a violinist of considerable ability who came to Vienna around 1785. For the following 10 years he held appointments at various aristocratic courts in Hungary. He returned to Vienna in 1795 where he remained until his death, holding various positions including that of Court Composer (Hofmusiker) to the Emperor, Franz I, an enthusiastic quartet player. He was the last composer to hold this august title and one of his duties was accompanying the Emperor on his various campaigns so that he could relax in the evenings playing quartets. There are more than 300 compositions which were at one time or another published, much of which is chamber music. He wrote more than 70 string quartets, 35 quintets, perhaps as many as 15 string trios, but also several works for winds and strings.


We have created a brand new edition for this deserving work which has been carefully edited by  Tomasz Golinski and R.H.R. Silvertrust. We warmly recommend this quintet to professionals and amateurs alike.


Parts: $29.95


Parts & Score: $39.95




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New