Joseph Küffner


 Notturno for Flute, Violin & Piano, Op.110

Joseph Küffner's Op.110 Notturno was composed around 1815. It was scored for Flute or Violin, Viola or Violin and Piano or Guitar. There are five tuneful movements—–Cantabile, Allegretto con variazione, Allegro moderato, another Allegro moderato and an Allemande with trio. The work was quite popular and went through several reprints and editions with the version for Flute, Violin and Piano ultimately becoming the most popular. Our soundbite presents the third movement and has the guitar rather than the piano.


Joseph Küffner (1776-1856) was born in the Bavarian city of Wurzburg where his father was the court music director. Küffner studied violin and served as a member of the Ducal Orchestra as well as a soloist. Besides the violin, he was proficient on the harpsichord, piano, organ, clarinet, bassethorn and guitar. He later was appointed Military Music Director of Bavaria. His works for military band were so well thought of that for several decades the Armies of the Bavaria marched to his music. He wrote over 300 works in all genres, of which the bulk were for chamber ensembles and which were extraordinarily popular during his lifetime. Today, he is exclusively remembered for his compositions for the guitar and for wind instruments. Although primarily a violinist, like Paganini, Küffner's reached a very high level of proficiency on the guitar because he not only included it in his chamber music compositions, but also wrote etudes for it.


We have reprinted a late edition, however, as it dates from the 1820's, the piano part is only the piano part and not a piano score.


Parts: $11.95



Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New