Richard Kursch

Soundbite Movt 1

Soundbite Movt 2

Soundbite Movt 3

Soundbite Movt 4

Soundbites courtesy

 of Steve Jones

Kammertrio No.1 in F Major, Op.41 No.1

For Two Violins and Cello

Richard Kursch (1879-1949) was born in Berlin. He studied piano and composition with Philipp Scharwenka at the Klindworth-Scharwenka Conservatory located in Berlin, and then was active for several years in Berlin as a pianist and composer. At the moment, there is no list of his works. We have determined that he composed two chamber trios for 2 Violins and Cello, his Op.41, a piano trio, a violin sonata, several works for piano, harmonium, saxophone and other instruments.


Kursch's two Kammertrios (Chamber Trios) date from 1911. Kammertrio No.1 is the first of the set. Writing in his Chamber Music Handbook, the famous critic Wilhelm Altmann has this to say:


"Richard Kursch's two Kammertrios for 2 Violins and Cello are especially welcome in view of the lack of good modern works for this instrumental combination. They are beautifully written with appealing melodies and because they present no real technical difficulties are an excellent choice for inexperienced ensembles. The first trio is in four, short movements---Moderato, un poco allegro, with a particularly effective main theme, a very attractive Scherzo, vivace ma non troppo, Larghetto and to conclude, Allegro moderato."

Out of print for many years, 2 violin and cello trio groups will certainly want to add this trio and its companion work to their repertoires.

Parts: $9.95


Parts & Score: $12.95




Contact Us



Place Order

What's New