Alessandro Longo

Soundbite 2nd Movt


Soundbite 3rd Movt

Suite for Viola and Piano, Op.53

Alessandro Longo (18641945) was born in the Italian town of Amantea. He studied piano and composition at the Naples Conservatory obtaining a diploma in performance. He subsequently taught at the Conservatory eventually rising to Professor of Piano. Additionally he had a career as a performer, espcially taking part in chamber music ensembles as the Ferni Quartet and Quartetto Napoletano which in no small part explains why we have a piano quintet from his pen. Today, he is remembered as the cataloger of the works Domenico Scarlatti, which are identified by Longo numbers just as those of Mozart are know by their Koechl number or Schubert's their Deutsch number. Besides his piano quintet, he wrote several suites for various instruments and piano.


Longo's Suite, Op.53 was intended for either Viola and Piano or Cello and Piano. It dates from 1910-11 and is in three movements. Allegro moderato, Romanza and Allegro appassionato.


Parts: $24.95 





Contact Us



Place Order

What's New