Henryk Melcer

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

Piano Trio in g minor, Op.2

Henryk Melcer's Piano Trio in g minor was awarded the Grand Prize for composition at the 1895 International Anton Rubinstein Competition by a panel of judges headed by Alexander Glazunov. It opens with a massive Moderato,  It is full of passion and drama, climbing the heights and plunging into the depths of emotion. sca A sweet Andante con moto follows. The third movement, Vivace, is a kind of spooky scherzo, full of rhythmic surprises. The boisterous finale, Allegro con fuoco, is full of good spirits and appealing melody. Surely a first class piano trio like this should have made it into the repertoire. It deserves concert performance and is not beyond the scope of experienced amateur players.


Henryk Melcer (1869-1928) studied violin and piano with his father, a music teacher in Kalisz before entering the Warsaw Conservatory where he studied piano Rudolf Strobl and composition, the with Zygmunt Noskowski, then one of Polandís leading composers and musical figures. Subsequently, he continued his tudies in Vienna with Theodor Leschetizky. He then pursued a career as a piano soloist, composer and teacher, holding posts at conservatories in Helsinki, Lvov, Vienna and finally in Warsaw where he became director of the Conservatory and also conductor of the Warsaw Philharmonic.


Parts $29.95





Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New