Felix Mendelssohn

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Sinfonia No.12 (String Symphony) in g minor

For 2 Violins, 2 Violas, Cello & Bass

Felix Mendelssohn's String Symphony No.12 in g minor dates from 1823 at which time he was 14 years old. It is the last of the so-called string symphonies he wrote between 1821 and 1823, although a movement also for strings is sometimes called No.13, it is generally not considered one of the string symphonies. Although No.12 was, like the others, an assignment in counterpoint from his composition teacher Carl Zelter, it is nonetheless a finished work.It opens with an intense, downward, chromatic Fugue, marked Grave, of the sort Johann Sebastian Bach would have written. Not surprising as Zelter's gods of composition were Johann Sebastian Bach, Mozart and Haydn and it was these three composers who served as the young Mendelssohn's models for his string symphonies. Next comes a warm and flowing Andante. The finale is a vigorous and very finely executed Fugue.


It is ironic that while none of these early sinfonia as he called them were intended to be played by the massed string section of a modern symphony orchestra or even the size of today's chamber orchestra, that is the only way these works seem to be heard. The title of Sinfonia was given because of the style rather than the number of players he intended for the work. It is almost certain that Mendelssohn intended this work for six players not more. These lovely pieces were meant for home use and for musical soirees. Long out of print, we are pleased to reintroduce a work which makes a fine selection for sextet or small string orchestra.


Every other edition has paid no attention whatsoever to page turns and the problems performers have with bad page turns and as a result make a poor choice for performance. However, our edition has eliminated these problems by creating page turns designed for performance.


Parts: $39.95


Parts & Score: $48.95




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New