Felix Mendelssohn

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

Sinfonia No.7 (String Symphony) in d minor

For 2 Violins, 2 Violas, Cello & Bass

Felix Mendelssohn's String Symphony No.7 in d minor dates from 1822 at which time he was 12 years old. It is the first of the second set of six so-called string symphonies he wrote between 1821 and 1823, although a movement also for strings is sometimes called No.13, it is generally not considered one of the string symphonies. These symphonies were assignments in counterpoint from his composition teacher Carl Zelter, and though they were not intended for public performance or even publication, they are nonetheless finished works. In the second set, we notice certain advances not evident in the earlier works. For example, it is in four movements. like those of Haydn and Mozart rather than only three as the Mannheim composers generally wrote. It opens with a thrusting Allegro, the opening bars to which are heard throughout. There are, however, several lyrical passages. Next comes a graceful Andante. The middle movement, a Menuetto is quite extraordinary, not only for its thematic material, which is quite striking, but also for the use of counterpoint. The closing movement is an exciting, Allegro molto.


It is ironic that while none of these early sinfonia as he called them were intended to be played by the massed string section of a modern symphony orchestra or even the size of today's chamber orchestra, that is the only way these works seem to be heard. The title of Sinfonia was given because of the style rather than the number of players he intended for the work. It is almost certain that Mendelssohn intended this work for six players not more. These lovely pieces were meant for home use and for musical soirees. Long out of print, we are pleased to reintroduce a work which makes a fine selection for sextet or small string orchestra.


Virtually all of the other editions have paid no attention whatsoever to page turns and the problems performers have with bad page turns and as a result make a poor choice for performance. However, our edition has eliminated these problems by creating page turns designed for performance.


Parts: $39.95


Parts & Score: $48.95




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New