Felix Mendelssohn

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Viola Sonata in c minor

Felix Mendelssohn's Viola Sonata in c minor dates from 1823. Because Felix was only 14 at the time the sonata was composed his then famous teacher Carl Zelter felt this fine sonata was not something for the publisher and it was not, in fact, published until 50 years ago (1966). The music is light and transparent,  and in three movements. The work is more lyrical than virtuosic and this is true of the part for both insturments.  It begins with a quiet Adagio introduction which leads to the main section Allegro. The second movement, though marked Menuetto, can hardly be called that if one is thinking in classical terms. It is the forerunner of an intermezzo. The huge finale is longer than the first two movements conbined.


Parts: $19.95





Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New