Adolf Mišek

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

Bass Sonata No.2 in e minor, Op.6

Adolf Mišek (1875-1955) was born in the Bohemian town of Modletin then part of the Austrian-Hungarian Empire. After initially studying with his father, he entered the Vienna Conservatory studying with, among others, the famous bassist Franz Simandl. He himself became one of the most important bassists of the first part of the 20th century, serving as principal bass of the Vienna Philharmonic as well as holding the position of Professor at both the Vienna and Prague Conservatories. He is also considered one of the most important composers for the bass in the late Romantic period and has three important bass sonatas to his credit along with a considerable amount of standard chamber music.

The Sonata No.2 for Bass and Piano in e minor was composed in 1911. It was tremendously popular during the first half of the 20th century but seems to have disappeared from the repertoire in recent decades. Unlike the First Sonata, it is in four movements. One can hear both the influence of Brahms, in the first movement, and that of Dvorak later in the third movement. The work begins with an expressive Con fuoco movement. The opening theme is heavy, but later the music becomes dance-like and one can hear echoes of the Viennese dance halls, with which Mišek certainly must have been familiar. A passionate and highly romantic Andante cantabile follows. The title of the third movement is Furiant, Allegro energico, which is exactly what the music is--an energetic Czech folk dance of the sort often encountered in Dvorak. The work closes with a powerful Allegro appassionato. Bassist Szymon Marciniak and Pianist Joanna Lawrynowicz performed the sonata.

This is an essential work which all bassists will want to play.

Parts: $19.95 





Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New