Emanuel Moór

Soundbite 1st Movement

Soundbite 2nd Movement

Soundbite 3rd Movement

Soundbite 4th Movement

Cello Sonata No.2, Op.55

Emanuel Moór (1863-1931) was born in the Hungarian town of Kecskemét and studied piano and organ in Budapest, Prague and Vienna. He enjoyed a career as a pianist, conductor and sought after composer, with many famous instrumentalists such as Casals, Kreisler, and Ysaye, to name but a few, commissioning works from him. He wrote a considerable amount of chamber music and was exceptionally fond of the cello.

The Op.55 Cello Sonata was composed composed around 1900. The opening movement, Allegro moderato, begins with a long-lined, stately melody, however, the development is dramatic and more energetic. The Scherzo which follows begins with the cello ominously growling in its lowest register while the piano part is light and sparkling. There are many sudden changes of dynamics and rhythm which creates a sense of uncertainty as to what will come next. The powerful third movement, Adagio, is permeated with sadness, sounding like a funeral dirge. Although the exciting Finale has no tempo marking, it is lively and energetic.

Long out print, this is a very good addition to the cello sonata repertoire and would be an excellent selection for either professionals or amateurs to take to recital.

Parts: $24.95




Contact Us



Place Order

What's New