Moritz Moszkowski

Les Nymphes




Quatre Morceaux for Violin and Piano, Op.82

Moszkowski's Quatre Morceaux for Violin and Piano date from 1909. Each was composed for a different prominent violinist, the fourth was dedicated to Georges Enescu. Although all four were given the same opus number, they were published separately and never together so as to increase the publisher's profits. Now for the first time, we have brought out all four at an attractive price. Each of these appealing character pieces is different in mood and can serve as an encore, but together they could replace a full length sonata.


Moritz (Maurice) Moszkowski (1854-1925) was born in Breslau, Prussia (now Wroclaw, Poland). He studied music in Breslau, Dresden and Berlin. He not only enjoyed a career as a brilliant and prominent concert pianist and respected conductor, but was also a fine composer and a first rate teacher. Among his many students were Thomas Beecham, Frank Damrosch, Josef Hofmann and Joaquin Turina.  Although his music is little known today, it was popular during the late nineteenth century. He was quite prolific, composing over two hundred pieces. Of Moszkowski, the famous pianist Paderewski wrote, "After Chopin, he best understands how to write for the piano." Although Moszkowski primarily small scale piano pieces, he also wrote larger scale works including a Piano Concerto, a Violin Concerto, two orchestral suites, a symphony, a ballet and an opera.


This work is a brilliant tour de force and a sure audience pleaser. Any of these dances make a great encore or short recital work and together, all five can take the place of a full length sonata.


Parts: $24.95




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New