Ernst Naumann

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

Soundbites courtesy

 of Steve Jones

 String Quintet No.2 in E flat Major, Op.13

For 2 Violins, 2 Violas and Cello

"Ernst Naumann's string quintets, even more than in his string quartets, showcase fine craftsmanship and inventiveness. His Second String Quintet, Op.13 in E flat Major, appeared in 1880. The opening movement, Allegro con brio, from its opening bars is a lively and fleet. This is followed by a more lyrical and very attractive second subject. Both the development and the coda are quite effective. The second movement, Moderato, though not so marked, is an Intermezzo with a scherzo for a middle section. Next comes an almost religious sounding Andante con espresso, the middle section to which is more energetic and agitated. The finale, Presto con fuoco, conveys the racing excitement of the hunt. The entire thing is quite effective. This is a quintet which will appeal to home music makers but also deserves to be heard in the concert hall.---Wilhelm Altmann writing in his Handbook for Chamber Music Players.


Ernst Naumann (1832-1910) was born in the German town of Freiberg in Saxony. He studied music at the Leipzig Conservatory with Moritz Hauptmann and Ernst Friedrich Richter and made his name primarily as a organist, editor and conductor. He served as Kapellmeister of Jena from 1860 until his death fifty years later. His compositions were not numerous and a large part of them are chamber music. His chamber music consists of a string trio, a string quartet, two viola quintets, a nonet and a trio for piano, violin and viola.


Parts: $29.95



Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New