Richard von Perger

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

String Trio d minor, Op.12

For Violin, Viola & Cello

“Richard von Perger's 1888 string trio must be considered indispensable. It is to be highly recommended not only to professionals for concert hall performance, but also to amateurs. It presents no great technical problems and plays very well with excellent part-writing for all of the voices. The passionate mood of the opening movement, Allegro moderato, is established immediately by the opening melody. The charming second subject is tonally rich. The second movement, Presto, is a spirited scherzo with a finely contrasting, slower trio section. A somber slow movement, Largo, follow. In the middle section the violin and cello engage in a fetching question and answer duet. The lively finale, Allegro vivace, begins explosive fashion. A second theme is equally powerful and it is only the third, tranquillo, which reduces the tension. A highly effective coda tops off the work."---Wilhelm Altmann writing in his Chamber Music Handbook


Richard von Perger (1854-1911) was born in the Austrian city of Graz. He studied composition in Vienna with several teachers, including Brahms, whose influence can often be felt in his music. His career was divided between composing, conducting and teaching. He served as director of the Rotterdam Conservatory and later the Vienna Conservatory as well as the Wiener Singverein(Vienna Choral Society) and the Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde. He wrote in most genres and his chamber music, in particular, was held in high regard.


One might well say that this is the string trio that Brahms never got around to writing. It has to be considered among the best if not the best late romantic work for string trio. Out of print for nearly a century, we know string trio groups will certainly treasure this fine work


Parts: $19.95

Parts & Score: $26.95




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New