Guido Peters

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

Soundbites courtesy

 of Steve Jones

String Quartet No.2 in c minor

“Guido Peters’ Second String Quartet, which dates from 1910 must be considered a very noteworthy work. The first movement, Allegro con brio, poco patetico, has a dramatic and highly effective main theme which is full of passion. Still more striking is the lyrical second subject. The following, deeply felt Andante sostenuto has the character of a lament but there is also lighter middle section. This is a magnificent and very poetic movement. The third movement, Sehr rasch und deutlich, is a spirited scherzo, which along the way, in a muted section, becomes highly atmospheric. There is also a contrasting trio with a lovely melody. The finale begins with a recitative introduction, Sostenuto, in which the main theme appears again, but this time in the major. The main section, Allegro con brio is both tonally attractive finely written.”—–Wilhelm Altmann writing in his Handbook for String Quartet Players


Guido Peters (1866-1937) was born in the Austrian city of Graz. He studied piano and composition at the Vienna Conservatory after which he pursued a dual career as a pianist and composer. In 1926, he obtained a professorship at the Vienna Conservatory. He composed in most genres and his works, mostly written in the late romantic idiom, enjoyed considerable success during the first three decades of the 20th century. Sadly, they have disappeared since then.


Out of print for many years, we are pleased to reintroduce a quartet which we feel would certainly do well in the concert hall but should appeal to experienced amateur players.

Parts: $24.95




Contact Us



Place Order

What's New