Gabriel PiernÚ


Preludio & Fughetta, Op.40 No.1

For 2 Flutes, Oboe, Clarinet, Horn & 2 Bassoons

Gabriel PiernÚ (1863-1937) was born in the French city of Metz. His parents were musicians and he was eventually sent to study at the Paris Conservatoire, where his teachers included CÚsar Franck and Jules Massenet. A gifted and highly talented student, he won several prizes, including performance awards in piano and organ and composition awards in counterpoint and fugue. He also won the prestigious Prix de Rome in 1882. He enjoyed a successful career as an organist as well as a conductor at the Ballets Russes in Paris. He was also a prolific composer who left several works in most genres.


The Preludio & Fughetta was originally one of three movements of a work for piano. However, when he received a commission from the Modern Wind Society of Paris, PiernÚ reworked the movement in 1904. It conforms to the old Baroque structure of a prelude and fugue but, of course, is dressed in modern guise.


This is a bright and appealing concert work for winds.


Parts: $19.95


Parts & Score: $25.95




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New