Gabriel PiernÚ

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Sonata for Violin and Piano, Op.36

PiernÚ's Violin Sonata was composed in 1900 for the French violinist, Jacques Thibaud. The work opens with a charming and nonchalant Allegretto to the accompaniment of arabesques in the piano. Although the music has a dreamy quality, it is unmistakably lively. The second movement, Allegretto tranquillo, is also of a dreamy nature, calm and reminiscent of a lullaby. The strongly rhythmic finale, Allegro un poco agitato, is full of charm and has a whimsical feeling to it.


Gabriel PiernÚ (1863-1937) was born in the French city of Metz. His parents were musicians and he was eventually sent to study at the Paris Conservatoire, where his teachers included CÚsar Franck and Jules Massenet. A gifted and highly talented student, he won several prizes, including performance awards in piano and organ and composition awards in counterpoint and fugue. He also won the prestigious Prix de Rome in 1882. He enjoyed a successful career as an organist as well as a conductor at the Ballets Russes in Paris. He was also a prolific composer who left several works in most genres.


This is an important and very appealing contribution to the violin sonata repertoire and deserves to be heard more often in rectial halls. It is original sounding and sure to please audiences

Parts: $16.95




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New