Max Reger

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

Piano Trio in e minor, Op.102

“Max Reger’s only a piano trio, Op 102, was composed in 1908. It is one of his best works. It is quite clear and tonally beautiful. It is not just straight forward on paper, it plays that way as well. His use of harmony is uncommonly witty. The moods of the huge first movement, Allegro moderato, are alternately acerbic and passionate. There is something undoubtedly elemental to this music and here Reger’s tremendous counterpoint skills are on display. The tonalities of the second movement, Allegretto, are quite original and leave a ghostly impression, while the middle section features a lovely, canonic duet between the strings. The magnificent Largo which follows is in the Lydian mode and is rich in ideas. The work concludes with a finale, Allegro con mode, brimming with appealing melody. I warmly recommend this trio, not only to professionals but also to amateurs who will be richly repaid by the time they take to acquaint themselves with this music.”—–The famous chamber music critic Wilhelm Altmann writing in his Handbook for Piano Trio Players

Max Reger (1873-1916) was born in the small Bavarian town of Brand. He began his musical studies at a young age and his talent for composition became clear early on. His family expected him to become a school teacher like his father and to this end passed the necessary examinations for certification. However, before he landed his first teaching job, he met the eminent musicologist Hugo Riemann, who was so impressed by Reger’s talent that he urged him to devote himself entirely to music. Reger studied with him for nearly five years. By 1907 Reger was appointed to the prestigious position of Professor of composition at the Leipzig Conservatory. In addition to this he was widely regarded as one of the best living conductors and organists. In a career that only lasted 20 years,  Reger wrote a prodigious amount of music in virtually every genre except opera and the symphony. Chamber music figures prominently within his oeuvre. Reger showed an affinity for the clarinet and his writing for that instrument is particularly fine and inspired.

There is no doubt that this work belongs in the front rank of the literature. It is surely one of the most original and original tonal piano trios of the 20th century. Long out of print, we make this huge work available at an extremely reasonable price in hopes of generating interest and friends for this fine music. Ours is the first and only edition with rehearsal letters.

Parts: $29.95




Contact Us



Place Order

What's New