Anton Reicha

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

Trio in E flat Major for 3 Cellos

Anton Reicha's Trio for 3 Cellos in E flat Major was completed in 1807. Scholars believe that the impetus for writing such a work came from his discovery of Haydn's trios for baryton, a six or seven stringed instrument bowed like a viola da gamba and sounds like a cross between a cello and viola. Haydn had written many such trios when he was in the employ of Prince Niklaus Esterhazy who played the baryton. Reicha must have studied these works as much of the writing resembles that for the baryton. Each of the instruments is treated generously. The movements are a cross between Viennese classicism and an Italianate Boccherini-like style one finds in the Menuetto. This is a big work with fine writing and makes an excellent concert vehicle for three capable cellists.


Anton Reicha, (1770-1836, Antonin Rejcha in the Czech form) was born in Prague. Orphaned at an early age, he went to Bavaria to live with his uncle, Joseph Reicha a concert cellist and music director. He studied composition, violin, flute, piano and composition while with his uncle. In 1785, they went to Bonn, where Joseph became music director at the electoral court. There, Anton got to know Beethoven with whom he became friends. He traveled extensively, holding positions in Hamburg, Vienna and Paris, where he eventually settled. By 1810 he was a professor at the Paris Conservatory and became one of the most famous teachers of his time. George Onslow, Louise Farrenc, Franz Liszt, Hector Berlioz, Cesar Franck and Charles Gounod were among his many students. He also gained fame as a theorist. He was an innovator in many areas. Though perhaps not the inventor of the Wind Quintet, he was the first to popularize it. A prolific composer, he wrote in virtually every genre. Chamber music is a very important part of his oeuvre.


 Parts $24.95

Parts & Score: $31.95




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New