Carl Reinecke




Three Pieces for Cello & Piano, Op.146

Robert Schumann used to say of Reinecke, "He knows what I am going to write before I do." Schumann felt Reinecke was the one person who really understood his music. Reinecke's 3 Pieces for Cello and Piano were no doubt inspired by Robert Schumann's own such works. The first piece, Arioso, is a cantabile work which highlights the singing characteristics of the cello. The second, Gavotte, might perhaps be called an updated Bachian gavotte. The third piece, Scherzo, is a sparkling and brilliant work, which gives the cellist a chance to highlight his or her skills.


Carl  Reinecke (1824-1910) was born near Hamburg in the town of Altona. As a musician, he was truly a renaissance man, excelling in virtually every area. For three decades, he was considered one of the finest pianists performing before the public.  Mendelssohn, Schumann and Liszt, were all very favorably impressed not only with his playing but also his compositions.  He was appointed to the position of professor of piano and composition at the prestigious Leipzig Conservatory, where he became one of the most famous teachers in the world considered to have few if any equals. Among his many students were Grieg, Bruch, Janacek, Albeniz, Sinding, Svendsen, Reznicek, Delius, Arthur Sullivan, George Chadwick, Ethel Smyth, Felix Weingartner, Karl Muck and Hugo Riemann. He eventually rose to the position of Director of the Conservatory and also served as the conductor of the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra into one of the finest orchestras in the world. As a composer, he produced widely respected and often performed works in every genre running the gamut from opera, to orchestral to chamber music. In his time, Reinecke and his music were unquestionably regarded as first rate.

These works, like Schumann's make excellent recital works which will be enjoyed by professionals and amateurs alike.

Parts: $24.95




Contact Us



Place Order

What's New