Ottorino Respighi







Cinque Pezzi (Five Pieces) for Violin & Piano

Respighi's Five Pieces for Violin and Piano date from 1906. They are the result of tremendous popularity of his first set of such works, his Six Pieces for Violin and Piano composed four years before. Each piece explores a different mode of expression. It is known that he played them in recital when he was still performing before the public. The moods, the tempi and even the time periods are varied. Played together, as Respighi probably intended, they are as long as a full length. Of course, any one of them would make a fine encore.

Ottorino Respighi (1879-1936) was born in Bologna and studied violin, piano and composition at the local conservatory with Giuseppe Martucci. Becoming a good violinists and a first rate viola player, he was engaged to play a season for the Imperial Orchestra in St. Petersburg where he met and subsequently studied composition with Rimsky-Korsakov. Upon his return to Italy, he took up residence in Rome where he lived for the rest of his life. Ottorino Respighi became world-famous for his orchestral works, such as the Pines and the Fountains of Rome. Many will be surprised to learn that he also wrote chamber music. But Respighi was very interested in chamber music and wrote a considerable amount, including eight string quartets, a string quintet, a piano quintet and several instrumental sonatas.

Respighi clearly intended these works for recital and the violinist who brings them back to the hall will be well rewarded for his or her efforts. It has never been easy to obtain the parts, which were all published separately to make more money for the publisher. However, we present them in their entirety together and we are pleased to make them available now.

Parts: $24.95




Contact Us



Place Order

What's New