Ottorino Respighi





Valse Caressante



Sei Pezzi (Six Pieces) for Violin & Piano

The Six Pieces for Violin and Piano were composed between 1901 and 1902. These lovely pieces, each exploring a different mode of expression, were quite possibly intended for his own use as recital pieces from a time when he was still performing before the public. Not only are the moods varied, but even the time periods. The Valse, Melodia and Leggend are all au courant whereas the Aria is a throw back to the baroque. Played together, as Respighi probably intended, they are as long as a full length sonata. Of course, any one of them would make a fine encore.

Respighi (1879-1936) was born in Bologna and studied violin, piano and composition at the local conservatory with Giuseppe Martucci. Becoming a good violinists and a first rate viola player, he was engaged to play a season for the Imperial Orchestra in St. Petersburg where he met and subsequently studied composition with Rimsky-Korsakov. Upon his return to Italy, he took up residence in Rome where he lived for the rest of his life. Ottorino Respighi became world-famous for his orchestral works, such as the Pines and the Fountains of Rome. Many will be surprised to learn that he also wrote chamber music. But Respighi was very interested in chamber music and wrote a considerable amount, including eight string quartets, a string quintet, a piano quintet and several instrumental sonatas.

Respighi clearly intended these works for recital and the violinist who brings them back to the hall will be well rewarded for his or her efforts. It has never been easy to obtain the parts and we are pleased to make it available now.

Parts: $24.95




Contact Us



Place Order

What's New