Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

String Quartet in F Major

“Rimsky-Korsakov’s String Quartet in F Major dates from 1878. It dates from his first creative period, prior to his concentrating on creating a Russian School of Composition. As such, one would not not immediately identify the work as Russian. Nonetheless, the work sounds good as is clearly constructed. And it is not hard to play. The first movement, Moderato alle breve, begins with a charming unisono theme while the second subject is particularly appealing by virtue of its lovely accompaniment. The second movement, Andante Moderato, though by no means exactly like the slow movement of Beethoven’s Op.18 No.4, shows certain marked similarities while in the exciting Scherzo which follows, Korsakov shows that he was familiar with similar efforts by Mendelssohn. The trio section provides an effective contrast. The finale, Allegro con spirito, is dominated by its rhythmic first theme presented in fugal fashion but there is also a beautiful and lyrical subject.”—–The well known chamber music critic Wilhelm Altmann writing in his Handbook for String Quartet Players.


Nicolai Rimsky-Korsakov (1844-1908) needs no introduction. He is justifiably famous for Scheherazade and many other orchestral works. Unfortunately, his chamber music is virtually unknown.

We are pleased to reintroduce this worthwhile quartet which has long been unavailable.

Parts: $24.95


Parts & Score: $31.95




Contact Us



Place Order

What's New