Clara Kathleeen Rogers

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Sonata for Violin and Piano in d minor, Op.25

Clara Kathleen Barnett Rogers (1844-1931) was born in the English town of Cheltenham.  Her early musical studies were with her mother an opera singer. Her father John Barnett was fairly well-known composer and her grandfather Robert Lindley had been a famous cello virtuoso. She studied at the Leipzig Conservatory graduating with honors and then pursed a career as an opera singer. In 1871, she moved to the United States and spent the rest of her life in the city of Boston working as a composer and a Professor of Voice at the New England Conservatory. Most of her works are for voice, but she has two string quartets, a cello sonata and this violin sonata to her credit.


The Sonata for Violin and Piano in d minor is in three movements and dates from 1892. The opening movement, Allegro, has for its main theme a fiercely determined melody, full of drive and striving. The second subject is lighter and more optimistic. Next comes a lovely Andante con espressione. Here the mood is quiet and subdued in the presentation of the delicate melodies which both instruments bring forth. The finale, Allegro giojoso, opens with an appealing and brilliant heroic theme and continues on in this vein to heavenly and ethereal coda.


Had this sonata been written by a well-known composer it would almost certainly have entered the repertoire. It deserves to be. It will do well in recital and should be of interest to both professionals and amateurs. Long out of print, we are very pleased to offer it.

Parts: $24.95 




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New