Julius Röntgen

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

 Trio for Flute, Oboe & Bassoon in G Major, Op.86

Röntgen's Wind Trio in G Major dates from 1917 and is written in the neo-classical style. The first movement, Allegretto con spirito, is an energetic, light-hearted, playful Haydnesque affair. The more subdued middle movement, Poco andante, quasi fantasia, combines folk melody with brief quotes from Bach’s St. Matthew’s Passion. Once again, in the finale. Allegretto, high spirits return. The movement is structured as theme with variations. The theme is based on a Danish folk melody while the variations are quite free and even reprise a melody from the opening movement.


Julius Röntgen (1855-1932) was born in the German city of Leipzig. His father was a violinist and his mother a pianist. He showed musical talent at an early age and was taken to the famed pianist and composer, Carl Reinecke, the director of the Gewandhaus orchestra. Subsequently he studied piano in Munich with Franz Lachner, one of Schubert's closest friends. After a brief stint as a concert pianist, Röntgen moved to Amsterdam and taught piano there, helping to found the Amsterdam Conservatory and the subsequently world famous  Concertgebouw Orchestra. He composed throughout his life and especially during his last 10 years after he retired. Though he wrote in most genres, chamber music was his most important area

Parts: $19.95



Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New