Max von Schillings

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

String Quintet in E flat Major

For 2 Violins, 2 Violas & Cello

Writing in his Handbook for Chamber Music Players, the highly respected critic Wilhelm Altmann has this to say about von Schillings’ quintet:


“Max von Schillings Op.32 String Quintet was completed and published in 1917. I can warmly recommend it for performance in the concert hall but it can also be managed by experienced amateur players. It is a highly dramatic work, especially in the impressive first movement, Mäßig bewegt and the finale, Kräftig bewegt und fest. Also arresting is the deeply felt slow second movement, Sehr getragen, with its very deliberate and dour fugue. The third movement, Schnell und lebendig, is a fleet scherzo with a charming and lyrical middle section.”


Max von Schillings (1868-1933) was born in the German town of Duren. He attended the Conservatory in Cologne. After graduating, he worked primarily as a teacher, composer and theater director. He was primarily known as a composer of opera and is remembered today for his opera Mona Lisa which achieved world-wide fame before the First World War. He wrote two chamber works, a string quartet and this string quintet.


Parts $29.95





Contact Us



Place Order

What's New