Leander Schlegel

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Sonata for Violin & Piano, Op.34

Leander Schlegel (1844-1913) was born in the Dutch town Oegstgeest near Leiden where he began his music studies. He showed an early talent, especially on the violin and drew the interest of the virtuoso Ferdinand Laub. Eventually, however, he concentrated on piano and composition and continued his studies at the Leipzig Conservatory where he studied piano with Ignaz Moscheles and compostion with Ernst Richter. For several years thereafter, he pursued a career as a solo pianist before settling in Haarlem where he taught and then served as director of the music school there for the rest of his life.


His Op.34 Violin Sonata was composed dates from 1910 and is dedicated to Brahms' biographer Max Kalbeck who called Schlegel the Brahms of Haarlem. The sonata is written in a post Brahmsian, late romantic style combining elements of Brahms with developments found in Reger. The huge opening movement, Allegro moderato, is full of rich melodic and dense harmony. A deeply felt Adagio molto follows and the sonata concludes with an exciting Allegro con anima.


This is an absolutely first rate sonata which truly belongs in the recital hall where it is sure to make a strong impression. Long out of print, we are very pleased to make it available again.

Parts: $24.95 




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New