Leone Sinigaglia



Soundbites courtesy

 of Steve Jones

Scherzo for String Quartet, Op.8

Leone Sinigaglia (1868-1944) was born in Turin, the capital of the Italian province of Piedmont. After studying at the local conservatory, he went to Vienna where he met Brahms, Goldmark and Mahler, all of whom he befriended. But it was Dvorak with whom he became a close friend, the latter giving him private lessons in orchestration in Prague. Dvorak was also instrumental in interesting Sinigaglia in the use of folk melody. Sinigaglia eventually returned to Turin where he lived the rest of his life teaching and composing. He collected and arranged over 500 Piedmontese folksongs. Chamber music is an important part of his output.

The Scherzo for String Quartet was an early work dating from 1895. It has a light, Mendelssohnian quality to it as it rushes forth busily, sparkling and tinkling. It would make a perfect encore.

Long out of print, we are pleased to make it available once again.


Parts: $13.95


Parts & Score: $18.95




Contact Us



Place Order

What's New