Leone Sinigaglia

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt


Soundbites courtesy

 of Steve Jones

String Quartet in D Major, Op.27

"The Piedmontese Leone Sinigaglia’s String Quartet in D Major was composed in 1905 and published in 1906. This is a work which structurally remains true to classical style with its four movements and takes into account the individual characteristics of each instrument thereby achieving beautiful tonal results with the melodies and thematic material. The opening movement, Allegro comodo is solidly constructed and presents a pretty, lyrical theme made even more attractive by its charming accompaniment. Next comes a fleet Scherzo, Allegro vivo, with a fetching trio. The praiseworthy slow movement, Adagio non troppo, is actually a very free set of variations that brings Schumann to mind. The thematic material of the finale, Allegro con spirito, is of a folkoric type. It begins in an austere vein but soon turns into a much more appealing melody.”---Wilhelm Altmann writing in his Handbook for String Quartet Players


Leone Sinigaglia (1868-1944) was born in Turin, the capital of the Italian province of Piedmont. After studying at the local conservatory, he went to Vienna where he met Brahms, Goldmark and Mahler, all of whom he befriended. But it was Dvorak with whom he became a close friend, the latter giving him private lessons in orchestration in Prague. Dvorak was also instrumental in interesting Sinigaglia in the use of folk melody. Sinigaglia eventually returned to Turin where he lived the rest of his life teaching and composing. He collected and arranged over 500 Piedmontese folksongs. Chamber music is an important part of his output.


This is a first rate work which is tonally quite fresh and individualistic sounding. Out of print for more than 80 years, we are pleased to introduce it once again and highly recommend it to both professionals and amateurs.

Parts: $24.95 




Contact Us



Place Order

What's New