Johann Sobeck

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

 Wind Quintet No.3 in g minor, Op.14

Johann Sobeck's Wind Quintet No.3 in g minor was completed sometime between 1890 and 1892. The opening movement, Allegro mosso, after beginning unisono gives way to a melancholy subject presented by the oboe and flute. Solos alternate with tutti sections. The second movement, Andante, piu tosto adagio, brings the Italian bel canto style, dominated as it is by long lyrical passages. Next comes a fleet Scherzino with a lšndler-like trio section. The finale, Tarantella vivo, is a whirling affair, interrupted from time to time with brief idyllic episodes.


Johann Sobeck (1831-1914 Jan Sobek in Czech) was a trained at the Prague Conservatory after which he enjoyed a long career as a soloist and as the principal clarinetist of the Royal Orchestra of Hanover. The bulk of his works were for the clarinet in one form or another, such as concertos, sonatas, opera fantasies and so forth. His wind quintets are generally considered his most important and best compositions.


Parts: $24.95



Contact Us



Place Order

What's New