Johann Sobeck

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

 Wind Quintet No.1 in F Major, Op.9

The composer, teacher and virtuoso clarinetist Johann Sobeck (1831-1914 Jan Sobek in Czech) was a trained at the Prague Conservatory after which he enjoyed a long career as a soloist and as the principal clarinetist of the Royal Orchestra of Hanover. The bulk of his works were for the clarinet in one form or another, such as concertos, sonatas, opera fantasies and so forth. His wind quintets are generally considered his most important and best compositions.


Quintet No.1 in F Major was composed in 1879. Though not written in concertante form, each of the instruments, right from the opening Quasi Presto, are given the chance to present the lovely melodies, which grace this movement, by way of grateful solos. The harmonically rich second movement, Adagio cantabile, expertly reveals the individual qualities and characteristics of each instrument. The third movement is a nimble and rhythmically interesting Scherzo. In the trio section, a hint of Bohemian folk melody can be heard. The captivating finale, Allegro molto, tops off this original and very fine work.


Our edition is based on the first and only edition by Böte & Bock. We have corrected the errors which appeared there and have added rehearsal numbers. Wind players looking for a fresh new sound from the middle of the Romantic era would do well to make the acquaintance of this Quintet.

Parts: $24.95



Contact Us



Place Order

What's New