Louis Spohr

Soundbite 1st Movt


Soundbite 2nd Movt


Soundbite 3rd Movt


Soundbite 4th Movt

String Quintet No.5 in g minor, Op.106

For 2 Violins, 2 Violas and Violoncello

“Spohr’s String Quintet No.5 in g minor, Op.106 dates from 1839. It is a work with which every friend of chamber music should get acquainted. The first movement proceeds in a dramatic and declamatory manner, in a stately tempo with rich sonorities, and a stirring conclusion. Both players and listeners are immediately engaged. The Larghetto is full of sentiment. The drama of the forceful Scherzo is heightened by several stretches of 2/4 bars. At the end, a short bridge in harmonics is linked to continuing harmonics throughout the Finale Pastorale, which is a highly witty and original movement—–Bertrand Jacobs writing in The Chamber Music Journal.


Louis Spohr (1784-1859 also known as Ludwig) was born in the German city of  Braunschweig. From early childhood, he showed a great aptitude for the violin and ultimately became one of the leading violinists in the first half of the 19th century. But from the very beginning, Spohr wanted to become more than just a violin virtuoso. Hard work and talent were to allow him to become a leading conductor, a highly regarded composer and a famous violin teacher. He wrote in virtually every genre, not the least being chamber music. He composed some 36 string quartets, 7 string quintets, five piano trios, four double quartets and several other chamber pieces. 


Good as it is, it has generally unavailable for decades at at time. We are pleased to bring it back and hope that it will attract interest among both professionals and amateurs.

Parts: $29.95




Contact Us



Place Order

What's New