Zygmunt Stojowski

Soundbite 1st Movt


Soundbite 2nd Movt


Soundbite 3rd Movt

Violin Sonata No.1 in G Major, Op.13

Zygmunt Stojowski (1870-1946) was born in the Polish town of Strzelce. He studied piano and composition at the Krakow Conservatory with Wladyslav Zelenski and later at the Paris Conservatory with Louis Diemer, Leo Delibes and Theodore Dubois. He also studied privately with Ignacy Paderewski. Stojowski lived in Paris from 1888 to 1906, gaining a reputation as a world concert class pianist and also as a fine composer. In 1906, he was invited to teach in New York at the Institute of Musical Art (which later became the Juilliard Music School). He spent the rest of his life in the United States, where he became one of the most sought after piano teachers. Most of Stojowski's music was for the piano, however, he did compose two violin sonatas and a cello sonata.

Sonata No.1 dates from 1909-1910 and was dedicated to his first teacher Wladyslav (Ladislas) Zelenski, one of the post important 19th century Polish composers.

The opening movement, Allegro non troppo, begins with romantic melody, characterized by its lovely chromaticism. Dramatic climaxes are created by the dialog between the instruments. The second movement, Allegretto capriccioso, is based on a beautiful folk melody.  The finale, Theme varie, is a set of variations. The theme is introduced by the violin over a dignified accompaniment in the piano. The variations plumb the full gamut of emotions and end with an exciting coda. (our soundbite present the theme, last variation and coda)

Here is another fine late Romantic violin sonata to be considered for the recital hall and should be of interest to professionals and amateurs alike looking for something fresh and unheard.

Parts: $24.95 





Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New