The Viennese Dance Series for Chamber Ensembles

Josef Strauss

For Soundbite


Click Here

Die guten, alten Zeiten Waltzes, Op.26

For String Quartet or Piano Quintet

Josef Strauss (1827-1870) was the second of Johann Strauss Sr. He studied mechanical engineering, opposing his father's wish that he should enlist in the army, and embarked upon a career as an architectural draughtsman and foreman, in which field he soon distinguished himself. However, he eventually abandoned this career and became a full-time musician. A remarkably versatile, gifted and prolific composer,  Johann Jr. often said: "Pepi (Josef's nickname) is the more gifted of us two; I am merely the more popular..." Josef left more than 300 original dances and marches. His pieces tend to be of a more serious character than those of his brother with his frequent use of minor keys which impart a wistful quality to his music.


Die guten, alten Zeiten (The Good, Old Times) Waltzes date from 1856. The sentimental introduction conjures up the fond mood of things past. There are 5 waltzes and a coda.

While this work was premiered by a small chamber orchestra of around 20 players, Strauss immediately, as always, made arrangements for all of the common chamber music ensembles which have become every bit as successful as the original.

Parts: $16.95 





Contact Us



Place Order

What's New