Sir Arthur Sullivan




Romance for String Quartet


One does not generally associate the words string quartet with Sir Arthur Sullivan (1842-1900). He did however compose two short pieces for this ensemble. Both were written in 1859 while Sullivan was studying under Moscheles at the Leipzig Conservatory. Sullivan was the Royal Academy of Musicís first Mendelssohn Scholar and at one time regarded as a very promising classical composer. The Romance in g minor shows the influence of Mendelssohn and is in the mood and style of a Mendelssohnian intermezzo. It is a lovely morsel which would make a charming encore.





Parts: $9.95

Parts & Score $11.95 




Contact Us



Place Order

What's New